Step by step progress of my painted cigar box

hi everyone! I’ve been away for too long and I am excited to share some new projects that I have been working on. I wanted to document the process of a cigar box that I just recycled using rice paper that I had from a small notebook and of course a cigar box that I was given from a smoke shop in town. I took a photo of my painting/ drawing progress on a daily basis, it took me exactly a week to finish. So here is what I did:

Day 1: I first primed the rice paper from my old notebook. I took just enough pages to cover the box all around, including the bottom. This was quite tedious as it took several layers of gesso to get rid of the ink on the paper, then I proceeded with the desired colour, which was a mint green. I wanted to give this box a vintage, rustic feel, and I decided that this time around I did not want to aim for perfection but rather its new “character” and its alternative use as jewellery or a trinket box. I wanted to decorate it with roses, this was my first attempt ever to paint roses, and I was really up for the challenge, I first outlined the roses and filled them in with white acrylic paint…

Image

 

Day 2: I started to fill in the roses layer by layer to try and achieve as many undertones and colours as possible…
Image

Image

 

I also framed the cover and the edges with a dark green, to try and tone down the rough seams of the rice paper…

Image

 

Day 3: More layers, adding more colour bit by bit…

Image

Image

Image

 

Day 4: Adding more elements…

Image

 

Image

Day 5: More layering, more painting…Image

Image

 

Day 6: Adding flowers and sparklies on all sides of the box…

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Day 7: Adding final details, cleaning up edges, varnishing ( I used a high gloss varnish) and adding more sparklies and voilaImage!

4 responses to “Step by step progress of my painted cigar box

  1. This is beautiful work you’ve done. I really like how you took something so regular and transformed it to a unique item that can have many different uses. Not to mention an old ugly cigar box and made it so bright and lovely. Love how the roses you have created posses so much dept textures and life to them. Roses are always my favorite flowers delicate yet resilient always smelling good and they do last a while as long as they are happy with their environment. Also they are chameleons you can alter or change their colours and also after they die they don’t really fade away you can keep them forever and sometimes they still smell beautiful.

  2. Yes! I am so glad that I read this post! I was just given tons of old cigar boxes and was thinking about recycling them into gifts. Now here’s a question. Do you have any thoughts on how 4-7 year olds could turn them into jewelry boxes for Christmas gifts? I think that this would be a fantastic art project but I’m not sure how to do it on their level. Thanks for the great post. Lovely boxes!

    • hi there Christa!Thanks, I am very happy that you enjoyed the post. To answer your question re: 4-7 yr olds, I would keep it very simple and get them to do whatever sparks their imagination. I work with children and I have noticed that they love sticking things on paper and or boxes, maybe just help them with cutting paper to size and then let them do their thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

